Waverley Little Athletics Centre Inc.

Family, Fun and Fitness since 12 November 1968
Victoria's Premier Grass Track


Stephen Whitehead

Stephen Whitehead is a Life Member of the Waverley Little Athletics Centre Inc. He has been involved at the Centre for 17 years and is one of the longest serving volunteers in our history. His six children were all members at the Centre and although his children are no longer involved, he remains an actively involved volunteer. Steve is one of three Life Members that has not served on the Committee.

For 11 years, Steve has volunteered as Shot Put 1 Manager, rarely missing any weekly competitions except the occasional Thursday twilight. PB’s and records are achieved on a weekly basis under the careful guidance of Steve. His positive attitude and great nature enables all athletes to have fun at Shot Put and he ensures the event is run smoothly.

Steve has always contributed in the set up and pack up of equipment, before buying his family a sausage in bread and ice pole once the program has finished. He has always supported the Waverley Open Day and Twilight meets when available, Relaython fundraisers, our AGM’s and Presentation Days.

Throughout the years, Steve’s children have not participated at Region or State events. He is one of few Life Members that has not served in any capacity outside of the Waverley Centre.

In 2017/18, Steve was awarded Life Membership at the Waverley Little Athletics Centre Inc., in recognition of exceeding 10 years outstanding service to the Centre. 

Honour Board

Centre Involvement

photos/Photos for website/thumb/IMG_3962.JPG

Stephen Whitehead Life Membership Presentation
With Life Members Steven Lopes, Dylan Cooper (President) & Mal Walker

photos/Photos for website/thumb/IMG_3963.JPG

Stephen Whitehead Life Membership Presentation

photos/Photos for website/thumb/IMG_3964.JPG

Steve Whitehead in action at Shot Put

photos/Photos for website/thumb/IMG_4009.JPG

WLAC Life Members - 2019/20
Annual General Meeting
Stephen Whitehead, Katy Smith (Secretary), Dylan Cooper (President), Bruce Reynolds, Mark Cosham, Kathy Cosham & Merryn Ashcroft